Listed building

Listed buildings
1 of 1
Latest resource collected on
Collector last ran on

Listed building status protects buildings that are of special architectural and historic interest. 

There are 3 grades of listing:

  • grade I buildings are of exceptional interest

  • grade II* buildings are particularly important buildings of more than special interest

  • grade II buildings are of special interest

Why are they important for planning?

You need special consent before making changes to a listed building that affect its character. 

Historic England also need to be notified or consulted when the setting of a Grade I or Grade II* listed building may be affected.

Responsible organisations and guidance

Historic England designates the status but anyone can nominate a building to be listed.

Help improve this data

If you have found any issues with this dataset, please complete this form, or email your questions and corrections to